Autopsy 4.14.0 on kali Linux and Java 1.8.0_242-b07

Hello all: A newbie here.

I have been using Sleuthkit for some time but definitely wanted to try and work Autopsy and its modules.

I am running a VirtualBox 6.0 on a Mac laptop and working within the latest Kali Linux update.

I followed the clear steps outlined for Linux install but when I launch Autopsy a big window opens up with the menus and it is blank. I can see and pull down the menus but I never see the opening screen for creating new cases etc.

I am unable to do anything with this screen.

I have Autopsy 4.14.0 on Kali Linux and Java 1.8.0_242-b07

The only 2 ways I feel I have deviated from the install instructions is:

1. Instead of java build 1.8.0_232-BellSoft-b10 I have the newer Java 1.8.0_242-b07
  2. Instead of installing sleuthkit-java_4.7.0-1_amd64.deb from Git, I elected to go with the newer Sleuth Kit 4.8.0

Can anyone tell me if by downloading newer Java build and the newer sleuthkit 4.8 I have created a problem?

Do I somehow need to revert to the earlier version of Java and the Sleuthkit version.

I would guess it’s your Java version. The newer version removed javafx from the standard installation. You can either use the older version or specify the full installation, which is now in the readme file.

sudo apt-get install bellsoft-java8-full
(make sure to update JAVA_HOME with the new folder)

apriestman: Many thanks for your reply and help.

I apologize in advance for my newbieness but when I try and install with your suggested “sudo apt-get install bellsoft-java8-full” command I get a response that “bellsoft-java8-full is already the newest version (1.8.0.242+7” and that nothing is upgraded or installed or removed.

Might you be able to help me get around that and reinstall the full version of java 8?

Are there commands I can use to uninstall? and then reinstall the full version this time?

Thank you again,

Emile

sudo apt-get remove bellsoft-java8-full or bellsoft-java8