E-mail message artifacts

I am trying to export email artifacts from a pst. the export as csv is very limited and does not appear to include all the message body. Is there any way to export these artefacts as files?

Not at this time. I can add it to the future feature request for you.

2 Likes

Mark that would be very useful. I’ve been using Autopsy for years and have always thought the work that has gone into the email parser was great. But the ability to export individual messages from.PST would be massively helpful.

As a long time user any other features you would like to see added or made better?

1 Like

I think the most underdeveloped aspect of any DFIR tool is the reporting. I use tools like Celebrite PA, Magnet AXIOM and NUIX. They all have pros and cons but none have a perfect reporting function.

As an analyst I want to be able to tag the items of interest then to be able to produce a detailed report of those items with all metadata I need in a format that can be exhibited in court, with the option of exporting the original format files linked to the report.

The most useful reporting features I’ve found is in Vound Intella, which is good at email analysis but had some major limitations for other aspects.

I have emailed you Mark

Mark,

Richard’s excellent comments about reporting and what features would be useful for users who may need to testify about their investigation dovetail nicely with our conversation a month or two ago about new features.

Reporting, while not exactly sexy, could easily become a killer feature for Autopsy relative to its closed source peers by making it possible to easily incorporate comprehensive results in reports from other sources or from manual entry of data.