Contaminated Data or User Error?

Hi to everyone here. I’ve been using Autopsy / TSK since 2003 (Excellent work by Brian and everyone else who contributes) .
I have come across an issue which is concerning but I cannot get to the bottom of. I have created an image with RapidSpar ver RS3.50d, then created a case with Autopsy 4.19.3 created on Windows 10 x64 ver 21H2 Build 19044.1620. CPU AMD Ryzen 7 4800H 2.90 GHz, 24GB Ram.

Every case is stored in it’s own unique folder, referenced with the hard drive model and serial number.
Upon examining the carved files I noticed some JPEG files I had seen recently.

A quick visit to a previous case confirmed some of these JPEGs in the latest Autopsy case, are actually from a previous case and in no way related to this one I am trying to work out where the contamination has occurred. Any ideas or suggestions welcomed. The files seem to appear when Autopsy is reading offsets marked as corrupted / unrecoverable that weren’t able to be retrieved during imaging. Given how reliable this software it is possible it’s user error. Hopefully nothing too embarrassing :slight_smile:

Thanks from Eddie

Ok wow I can’t figure out how this could have happened.

• Are the JPEGs carved files in both cases?
  • If you restart your machine before opening either case, do the JPGs still appear correct?

Carved files are stored as offsets into your disk image so I’m confused about how JPGs from the other image could be loading after a reboot. These are definitely files in the $CarvedFiles folder?